It’s Always Sunny: Season 3 Episode 4: “The Gang Gets Held Hostage”

Watching: By myself.  

            The McPoyle’s are back in full swing in this hilarious episode where the gang, as stated in the title, gets held hostage. I think the robes and pajamas that the McPoyle family is wearing are extremely stylish and very fitting for being laid back and relaxed about holding the gang hostage.

            However, the episode starts with Frank being motivated by money as usual and trying to find his will that was hidden in the vents of the bar. Can you imagine a minuscule Danny Devito crawling around an air vent system? Priceless. I guess since Charlie has found out that Frank really is his dad he’s seemingly gloating about being Dee and Dennis’ big brother. I think my favorite quote was when he said, “Now get me a beer before I give you a serious noogie little bro”. I guess it was just the way he said it that was adorable and hilarious.

            I like how Dee seems to get the short straw every episode, because when the McPoyle’s first break into the bar as masked robbers (at the time the gang has no idea who they really are) Dennis elects for them not to shoot anything and to take the girl. Meanwhile Dee is frantically saying how the robbers don’t want to take her, and Charlie and Mac back Dennis up by saying Dee should peacefully go with the masked gunmen. I think it’s funny how Dee is the only female lead of the show, yet the guys put her through the most junk to deal with. I guess it proves that she’s a’ somewhat strong female lead, or a somewhat stereotyped helpless female.

            I think the best ransom gift the McPoyle’s asked for was a reversible Planet Hollywood jacket. I mean really they really do NOT make those anymore so that’d be more outlandish then a nude picture of Bee Arthur.

            So Dee points out due to the panic instilled in all of them they all might start getting Stockholm syndrome. Charlie, completely unaware as to what it even is starts freaking out that he is getting it because his throat is getting sore. I think it would have been funnier if he were in his green suit again freaking out over the Stockholm syndrome. That’s just me. So of course the logical thing to do would be to form a pact of some sort so none of them die, or one of them dies first, and it’s a cut throat game of who throws each other under the bus first. You figure in a time of dire panic this would somewhat unite them and it ends up keeping them the same, dysfunctional self centered bunch.

            I’d like to know the fascination the McPoyle’s have with milk too. They’re always drinking it. Whether it be warmed, or chilled, or used to heal fork stabs caused by one another.

            The McPoyle’s have given the team a challenge to smash as much stuff in the bar in one minute’s time or they would all get shot in the face. So of course they all start smashing as much stuff they can possibly get a hold of. However, it reminded me a lot of the Saw movies how they have a certain amount of time in order to save their lives.

            So some highlights of the show for me, were when Frank is caught in the vent system and gets blown by the heat; when the group screws with the deaf mute sister by making her raise her hand a bunch; when Dennis tries to seduce the deaf mute sister by strutting up to her in strapping white underpants; Charlie farting in Mac’s face; the Charlie bad room, and when the McPoyle’s reveal that they were just getting revenge for them shooting their brother in the leg.

            Central theme of this episode again, I am stalemated for. I mean maybe it was the whole revenge scheme? Getting back at those who have been keeping you down for so long? I have no idea. All I know is that I love when the McPoyle’s come to the show, because they’re so funny all of the time. And the fact that Glenn Howerton finally got shirtless, yum.

            I give the episode a 4/5 because of all the ludicrous stuff that went down. Also how adorable Charlie looked in the tight white underpants and cloth robe. Oh, and for this quote by Frank, “I am going to shove my fist right into your ass, hard and fast, not in a sexual way”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Always Sunny: Season 3 Episode 4: “The Gang Gets Held Hostage”

  1. professor Dunphy says:

    A great “Airheads” reference with the nude photos of Bea Arthur!

    You did great! Well done on all the posts!

    Maybe this show doesn’t need a statement– maybe It’s Always Sunny is one of those that deserves to just… BE. 🙂

    Great job!

Leave a Reply

